Virtual Conference Celebrating
of The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory

February 12th, 2022, 10:30am – 3:15pm EST

Sponsored by the ORI Academic Press, the Object Relations Institute,
International Psychohistorical Association, Clio’s Psyche and the Psychohistory Forum

Conference is free, but Registration is required .
Please write to Dr. Paul Elovitz at or use this form for registration

This one day virtual conference will celebrate The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory (ORI Academic Press, 2020), which brings together the life stories of 37 talented and innovative scholars creating a new way of looking at the world. Psychohistory probes people’s motivation, focusing especially on childhood, coping mechanisms, creativity, dreams, fantasy, overcoming trauma, personality, and unconscious drive. It goes beyond history and psychology to become an amalgam of a multitude of disciplines. The twice Pulitzer Prize-winning author Barbara Tuchman insightfully said, “All good history is psychohistory.” This is the companion volume to Dr. Paul Elovitz’ first history of this dynamic field, The Making of Psychohistory: Origins, Controversies, and Pioneering Contributors (Routledge, 2018).

For over a half-century, Dr. Elovitz has been shaping the transdisciplinary field of psychohistory through his seminal scholarship, publications, editing, and conference presentations throughout the world. He has brought together a diverse group of talented contributors from multiple disciplines and clinical settings who do applied psychoanalysis, political psychology, and psychobiography. The autobiographical authors probe not simply their contributions and life stories, but also their own quite personal and revealing passages leading them to major achievement. They are a testament to the idea that the unexamined life is not worth living. The South African scholar Claude-Hélène Mayer writes that “This book is a ride through the landscape of psychohistory with all its facets, giving insights into the life and work of extraordinary scholars.  It is a milestone on the road of psychohistory.”

This conference will consist of several presentations on a variety of subjects. Each presenter will speak for either 20 or 30 minutes and then answer questions for 15 minutes. There will be a 40-minute lunch break as well as 15 minutes summarizing the meeting at the end.

For any questions, to register, or for more information, email . This conference is co-sponsored by the Psychohistory Forum, Clio’s Psyche, the International Psychohistorical Association (IPA), the Object Relations Institute (ORI), and the ORI Academic Press.

SCHEDULE OF THE CONFERENCE

10:30 am – 10:45 am EST:
Introduction

10:45am – 11:30 am EST
Paul Elovitz: Autobiography, Childhood, and Psychobiography

11:35 am – 12:20 pm EST
Denis O’Keefe: Applied Psychohistory: Mental Health Professional Engaging the Political Process

12:20 pm – 1:00 pm EST:
Lunch

1:00 pm – 1:35 pm EST
Peter Loewenberg: Working with Institutions

1:35 pm – 2:10 pm EST
Burton Seitler: Humor as a Mechanism of Defense in Analysis, During COVID, Editing, and in Life

2:15 pm – 2:50 pm EST
David Beisel: Reflections on Genres of the Imagination (2022), and The Suicidal Embrace: Hitler, the Allies, and the Origins of World War II (2004)

2:50 pm – 3:15 pm EST:
Summarizing the meeting

PRESENTERS

David R. Beisel, PhD, an emeritus history professor at SUNY Rockland and former editor of The Journal of Psychohistory, is a prolific and veteran psychohistorian who taught psychohistory to over 8,000 students.

Paul H. Elovitz, PhD, a historian, research psychoanalyst, and psychohistorian who is now planning his next edited book called The Autobiographies and Psychobiographies of Psychobiographers in conjunction with the creation of the international Psychobiography Research and Publication Group, a subgroup of the Psychohistory Forum. Their draft websites may be found at PsychobiographyForum.com and PsychohistoryForum.com.

Peter Loewenberg, PhD, an emeritus historian at UCLA, distinguished veteran psychohistorian, institution builder, and practicing analyst in LA.

Denis O’Keefe, MSW, PhD, an NYU social work professor and psychotherapist in private practice whose specialty is social policy.

Burton N. Seitler, PhD, a psychologist and psychoanalyst in private practice in Ridgewood and Oakland, NJ, as well as founding editor of the Journal for the Advancement of Scientific Psychoanalytic Empirical Research (J.A.S.P.E.R.).

Learn more about the book that inspired this virtual conference, The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory:

“This volume will impress the reader with the rapid and overdue development of the fascinating interdisciplinary field, accurately summed up as ‘psychohistory.’  It contributes to the validation of a method to making sense of past and current history and directs us to use this knowledge to save ourselves from ourselves.  Evidence of the interesting differences in substantive focus and conviction as well as personality emerge from very personal sketches of some dominant and distinguished contributors to the field.  Psychohistory can reinvigorate the study of history and make it as compelling to a truly wide audience as it should be.  College freshmen, for example, would be excited to find this book on their reading list.  This book is a needed reference and much more.

-Pamela Steiner, EdD, Harvard School of Public Health, and author of Collective Trauma and the Armenian Genocide (2021)

“For 50 years Dr. Elovitz has been a tireless leader, shaping the interdisciplinary field of psychohistory through his seminal workshops, teaching, writing, and editing.  In 2021, this authoritative new volume brings together the original contributions of 37 highly diverse contributors who span the fields of history, medicine, the social sciences, and the humanities.  Neither the novice nor the experienced psychohistorian can help but learn from this rich volume as some of the key figures within psychohistory explain the why and how of their craft.  This book is essential for the psychohistorian’s bookshelf.”

-Harold Takooshian, PhD, Professor of Social Psychology at Fordham University, and past President of the American Psychological Association

“This book is a ride through the landscape of psychohistory with all its facets, giving insights into the life and work of extraordinary scholars.  It is a milestone on the road of psychohistory.”

-Claude-Hélène Mayer, Psychology Professor and psychobiographer at the University of Johannesburg, South Africa

“This is disarmingly frank about the difficulties psychohistory had and still has in making itself be taken seriously by the academic and psychoanalytical professions, but at the same time cogently able to expose the resistance and opposition as proof of how important this discipline is—perhaps more now than ever before in a time of fear, anxiety, and challenges to the pursuit of truth.  Thirty-seven key innovators in this dynamic new field show how their life-histories, professional careers, and creative insights have enhanced the subjects they write about.”

-Norman Simms, Founding Editor of Mentalities/Mentalités, and author/editor of 17 books

“The path to psychohistory is a struggle with oneself and for oneself.  This book brilliantly collected 32 personal testimonials from the founders of the psychohistory, showing their life journeys through personal struggles, major challenges, and accomplishments.  Here the reader could hear the voices of the legendary personalities from psychoanalysis theory, sociology, anthropology, feminist and gender studies, to the development of the very essence of psychohistory.  It is because of this personal engagement that psychohistory will always be alive, beyond the interdisciplinary frontiers, and focused on the future.”

-Olga Shutova, PhD, director of the Laboratoire de recherche sur Francysk Skaryna, and former professor at Belarusian State University

“We can learn from their ‘study of lives’ how psychohistory teaches us to process unconscious effects of trauma in our lives.  The Many Roads is a testimony of heroism and courage of human lives in the context of history.  As Elovitz summaries in his psychobiography how he moved from emotional childhood struggle to intellectual leadership, that is typical to psychohistorians: ‘Determination; my love of history, psychoanalysis, and psychohistory; my lengthy personal and group analyses; and an unyielding work ethic.’”

-Krystyna Sanderson, PsyD, psychoanalyst in New York City

“It captures the link between the history one has made and the history that has made you.  Beyond personal journeys, this book demonstrates the fruitfulness of research taking place in the space of encounter between history and psychoanalysis.”

-Brigitte Demeure, PhD, Société française de Psychohistoire

“The book reveals a colorful landscape of an international network of scholars standing in the tradition of Sigmund Freud, Alice Miller, Hannah Arendt, Lloyd deMause, and many others, pioneers in applying psychology on past and ongoing history.  The contributed articles also delineate how—often in a paradigmatic way—psychohistorians have managed to achieve improvements in their professional field, helping societies to become less violent.  Sustainable social developments do rely on such individuals found in The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory, a roadshow of transdisciplinary science.”

-Christian Lackner, Center for Social Competence and Organizational Learning at the Klagenfurt University’s Department for Organizational Development and Group Dynamics

BOOK INFO

The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory

by Paul H. Elovitz

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Ori Academic Press (October 12, 2021)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Paperback ‏ : ‎ 286 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1942431171
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978–1942431176

The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory brings together the life stories of 37 talented and innovative scholars creating a new way of looking at the world. Psychohistory probes people’s motivation, focusing especially on childhood, coping mechanisms, creativity, dreams, fantasy, overcoming trauma, personality, and unconscious drive. It goes beyond history and psychology to become an amalgam of a multitude of disciplines. The twice Pulitzer Prize-winning author Barbara Tuchman insightfully said, “All good history is psychohistory.” This is the companion volume to Dr. Paul Elovitz’ first history of this dynamic field, The Making of Psychohistory: Origins, Controversies, and Pioneering Contributors (Routledge, 2018).

Early readers of the manuscript have had some very powerful things to say. Professor Pamela Steiner of Harvard reports that “This volume will impress the reader with the rapid and overdue development of the fascinating interdisciplinary field… [of] ‘psychohistory.’ ” It provides a methodology and knowledge, in her words, “to save ourselves from ourselves.” She goes on to say that as well as being a “needed reference book” that “psychohistory can reinvigorate the study of history and make it as compelling to a truly wide audience” such as college freshmen.